Mackerel back on the Fish to Eat list

European and Norwegian mackerel have been classified as a yellow three, while mackerel caught by Icelandic and Faroese trawlers has been classified as a red four

The Marine Conservation Society (MCS) has upgraded European and Norwegian mackerel to a yellow ‘three’ rating on its Fish to Eat List, meaning people can eat it occasionally without endangering the species.

This is premium content

Already a member? SIGN IN now


Sign up for FREE to continue reading!

Want to read more before deciding on a subscription? It only takes a minute to sign up for a free account and you’ll get to enjoy:

  • Weekly newsletters providing valuable news and information on the commercial fishing and aquaculture sector
  • Full access to our news archive
  • Live and archived webinars, podcasts and videos
  • Articles on innovations and current trends in the commercial fishing industry
  • Our extensive archive of data, research and intelligence

Get more free content sign up today

Ready to subscribe? Choose from one of our subscription packages for unlimited access!