Americas certification update

Baja California red rock lobster, Mexico Baja California red rock lobster, Mexico

Since mid-May 2011, six fisheries in the Americas region, comprised of 13 Units of Certification, were certified.

They include the largest volume fishery in Mexico, the Gulf of California Pacific sardine fishery. Also certified were the world’s first spiny dogfish fishery and the world’s first anchovy fishery - located in British Columbia and Argentina respectively. Additionally, the British Columbia pink salmon fisheries were certified, as well as the offshore northern shrimp and striped shrimp fishery off the east coast of Canada. Finally, another “first” with the first fully tribally-managed fishery to be MSC certified, the Annette Islands Reserve salmon fishery. This community-managed fishery operates in the tribal waters of the Metlakatla Indian Community in southeast Alaska.

Three fisheries received their second five-year certificate including the Baja California red rock lobster fishery in Mexico. As part of the recertification, the area covered by the certificate was expanded. In 2004 this became the first Latin American and first community-based, developing world artisanal fishery certified to the MSC standard. Also recertified since last May were the US North Pacific halibut fishery off the coast of Alaska and Washington, and the US North Pacific sablefish fishery off the coast of Alaska.

The Scotian shelf and Gulf of St. Lawrence snow crab trap fisheries, off of eastern Canada and comprised of two Units of Certification, entered full assessment.

Latest Jobs


African Century Foods is a fully integrated tilapia producer with its own broodstock, hatchery, grow... Read more

Media Sales Executive

We are looking for an experienced Sales Executive to join our award winning B2B media company. Merc... Read more

Fishery Technical Officer - 7601

We are seeking four experienced technical fisheries officers to join our busy fisheries, biodiversit... Read more

Assistant Hatchery Manager

Marine Harvest is one of the largest seafood companies in the world, and the world’s largest produce... Read more

Events Sales Executive - Conferences

We are looking for an experienced & talented Sales Executive to join our award winning B2B media com... Read more

View all jobs